DiStruc (Directed Structure at the meso-scale) is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network whose primary focus is to provide integrated training for young researchers, enabling them to achieve scientific excellence and set the foundations of their future careers.

DiStruc runs for four years, starting January 1st 2015, and brings together partners from 6 different European countries including Universities, Research Institutions and Industries. 

DiStruc offers 15 Early Stage Researcher (ESR) positions at nine host organisations in the field of soft condensed matter. More specifically, four ESRs will be allocated in industry and eleven will be allocated in academia. The ration of academic to industrial nodes constitutes an ideal balance of expertise and background that will enable the highly needed transfer of experience and knowledge between sectors. Moreover, the non-academic organisations will have an equal role to universities in respect of the researcher’s time and supervision, and in collaboration with the participating universities will deliver joint doctoral degrees. 



1. University of Oxford (UK): 3 ESR positions – Dirk Aarts (coordinator) / Julia Yeomans / Jon Doye / Roel Dullens

2. Forschungszentrum Jülich (Germany): 2 ESR positions – Pavlik Lettinga / Marisol Ripoll / Jan Dhont

3. Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (Netherlands): 2 ESR positions – Paul van der Schoot

4. CNRS (Bordeaux; France): 2 ESR positions – Eric Grelet

5. Foundation for Research and Technology (Crete; Greece) 2 ESR positions – George Petekidis / Maria Vamvakaki


1. Teijin Aramid (Netherlands): 1 ESR position – Bert Gebben / Erik Westerhof

2. Unilever (Netherlands): 1 ESR position – Krassimir Velikov

3. Canoe/Adera (France): 1 ESR position – Célia Mercader / Simon Jestin

4. Nestlé (Switzerland): 1 ESR position - Deniz Gunes





This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Grant Agreement No 641839.